Blindfriendly 28. 2. 2020 Site mapSite map              PrintPrint              SlovenskySlovensky

Foreign partners



Varazdin County (Republic of Croatia)

The first contacts with Varazdin County were opened via Bratislava part Devínska Nová Ves, as it’s representatives often visit the County, which also results from the fact that quite a large Croatian minority lives in Devínska Nová Ves.
Addendum to the Protocol on Cultural and Social Trade was signed on August 31st, 2003, between the Bratislava Self-Governing Region and Varazdin County.
Relations and co-operation, working meetings, participation in the Bratislava Self-Governing Region economic forum held in Pezinok, exchange of students and other joint activities, resulted in the Protocol on Future Co-operation, which was signed in February 2005, in Bratislava.
Concrete examples of co-operation encompass inter alia three-month exchanges of students and teachers from Secondary School for Gardening in Malinovo and Croatia schools.
The Chairman of the Bratislava Self-Governing Region visited Varazdin County. During his visit, meetings were held with representatives of the County, and also regional parliament (Skupština), and representatives of regional business and trade chambers, discussing possibilities for economic co-operation, mainly industrial parks, SMEs, culture and education, but also assistance to the Varazdin County in preparing projects to be financed by the EU pre-accession funds.
In December 2005, the Museum of Croatian Culture and Croatian Cultural Centre was opened in Devínska Nová Ves, with participation of Croatian Prime Minister Mr. Ivo Sanader, the Slovak Prime Minister Mr. Mikuláš Dzurinda and the Chairman of Bratislava Self-Governing Region.
The Embassy of the Republic of Croatia to Slovakia closely follows contacts between the Bratislava Self-Governing Region and counties from Croatia.